JH
Jaid H

1 reviews | Active since Dec 2020

06 Apr 2025, 18:15

UberEats predatory business model exposed

I am based in Cape Town, South Africa.

Firstly, I can't order certain basic items from the same restaurant like a Big Mac from McDonalds even though I can on other apps like Mr D.

Secondly. I got a discount voucher to use for UberEats. Went onto the app, made my choice, proceeded to checkout. I get shown the order confirmation first and delivery details screen second. I press next, expecting a payment screen where I can confirm my payment details and input my coupon code. But instead, the order is immediately submitted and I am told the restaurant is now preparing it!!!!! I have not been given any option to input my code! After research, I see now that before you order, you have to go into a separate part of the app and enter your gift code there, which, as a software dev, is not at all a sensible design decision. Why make your users do extra work? What happened to the idea of having a seamless app experience?

Thirdly. I try to cancel my order. The UberEats documentation on https://help.uber.com/ubereats/stores/article/cancel-my-order?nodeId=400ed8fb-e51f-485d-a9e0-62dd64641cc2 tells me there is a "Cancel" button on the help page. No there is not. Instead, I have to talk to a chatbot to cancel my order, and when it is cancelled, I get charged R156 (my original order was R200) for said cancellation, to "compensate for the restaurant's time and effort in preparing my order, and the delivery driver's time." How does this make any sense when I cancelled within five minutes of making my order?

Fourth. I go onto the UberEats site, looking for a contact phone, or even an email address. To my absolute horror, I find this: "Diamond users will have access to our premium support line. Tap 'Call us' to get in touch with us right away." So now, I am expected to pay even more money to get help?

No, UberEats. I am deeply disgusted with this whole situation, with your business, and will not be ordering from you ever again. App uninstalled.

0
Replies (0)