1 reviews | Active since Sept 2017
My contract expires on 18 February 2018. I am currently on an MTN Anytime 350 contract. My chosen upgrade package is a Talk M 500 package. I was informed that if I chose to upgrade before my invoice date of the 22nd, I will lose my available airtime and data. The explanation was that I am choosing a different type of contract. The 350 contract was based on R350 worth of airtime and the 500 contract is based on the number of airtime minutes available for the month. So firstly MTN done away with the rand value contracts and I did not want to change to a minute based contract. In light of this, I am disadvantaged as the option was not there. I paid for the airtime and data that is still available on the existing contract. MTN has no right to take it away That is tantamount to theft. Secondly, i am told that my current contract will be canceled and my new contract will kick in and I will have to pay the pro-rata for the month. 100% agree, but I will not be refunded for the balance of the month for my canceled contract as this was invoiced in advance. So I am being double billed for the remainder of the month. Again this is theft as MTN should be geared up from a system perspective to handle this. Where is the customer centricity or are the decisions made on a profit margin basis only.
Thank you for your post.
We sincere apologized for any inconvenience incurred.
Kindly be advised that the Rand Value airtime and data need to be used up before you do the migration to the new upgrade package. if the migration is done to the different platform all will be lost.
The account is billed in arrears and allocation done in advanced. Once the upgrades you will not be billed for prorate.
Once the new package is activated the new subscription fee payable will only be from the next invoice date.
Kind Regards,
Alice van der Merwe
Complaints Analyst
Best regards,
Thank you for your post.
We sincere apologized for any inconvenience incurred.
Kindly be advised that the Rand Value airtime and data need to be used up before you do the migration to the new upgrade package. if the migration is done to the different platform all will be lost.
The account is billed in arrears and allocation done in advanced. Once the upgrades you will not be billed for prorate.
Once the new package is activated the new subscription fee payable will only be from the next invoice date.
Kind Regards,
Alice van der Merwe
Complaints Analyst
Best regards,
© Copyright 2026 hellopeter.com and its affiliates. All rights reserved.